The Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity Office (URSCO) at the UNC Greensboro is dedicated to promoting and supporting student success through mentored undergraduate research, creative inquiry and other scholarly experiences for the UNCG community. URSCO is also dedicated to helping faculty become increasingly effective with mentoring undergraduate research and integrating research skills into courses and curricula.

The office seeks to highlight the diversity of disciplinary scholarship for and through our students in order to help cultivate inquiry outside the classroom. Toward this end, URSCO hosts a variety of workshops for students and faculty.

Student workshop topics include: what to expect from a research experience, how to create an effective poster, how to identify the right research program and mentor, and students talking with each other about their research.

Faculty workshop topics include: how to mentor undergraduate students in research/creative inquiry and integrating research skills into the curriculum.

URSCO seeks to:

  1. Provide opportunities for UNCG students to engage in an undergraduate research experience.
  2. Provide opportunities for UNCG students to learn about the benefits of undergraduate research or scholarly experience.
  3. Provide opportunities for UNCG students to disseminate the results of their research.
  4. Develop additional programs that support undergraduate research experiences.
  5. Develop an assessment program for the undergraduate research experience.
  6. Participate in local, state, and national dialogues or meetings devoted to promoting undergraduate research.

Prior to 2006, the Office of Research and Public/Private Sector Partnership at the UNCG administered the Undergraduate Research Assistantship (now URCA) program, the Scholars Travel program, and an annual undergraduate research poster show.

The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) was created in 2006 to fulfill the vision of Associate Provost Rosemary Wander. In spring of 2014, the OUR became the Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity Office (URSCO) in an effort to embrace and promote the diversity of disciplinary scholarship represented by the university.  Dr. Mary Crowe was the first director of the Office of Undergraduate Research and served in that capacity from 2005 – 2012.  Dr. Jan Rychtář served as the Interim Director of the OUR in 2012-2013.  Dr. Lee Phillips has served as the Director of the URSCO since August of 2013.

Our Staff

Traci Miller

Academic Enhancement Coordinator
130 Shaw Residence Hall

Curtis Bullard

Graduate Assistant
132 Shaw Residence Hall

Alex Archambault

Undergraduate Assistant
132 Shaw Residence Hall

The Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity Office

130 Shaw Hall
(336) 334-4622

Leadership Committee


The URSCO Leadership Committee is established to harness the collective knowledge of campus leaders to provide the most favorable environment for our students to access the opportunities most relevant to their personal and professional goals. This committee is charged with developing and overseeing the activities of the URSCO to promote:

  1. a community of undergraduate research leaders/facilitators sharing best practices for UNCG, and
  2. programming and advocacy for student learning through undergraduate research.
Bryan School of Business and EconomicsDr. Erick Byrd, Associate Prof, Marketing, Entrepreneurship, Hospitality & Tourism
College of Arts and SciencesDr. Stuart Marcovitch, Associate Dean for Research
College of Visual and Performing ArtsDr. Annie Jeng, Assistant Professor. School of Music
School of EducationDr. Jamie Schissel, Associate Professor, TEHE
School of Health and Human SciencesDr. Joi Bulls, Associate Dean
School of NursingDr, Laurie Kennedy-Malone, Professor, Nursing
Lloyd International Honors CollegeDr. Angela Bolte, Assistant Dean
Student AffairsGeorge Still, Director of Assessment
University LibrariesKathelene Smith, Interim Head – SCUA
Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity OfficeDr. Lee Phillips, Director
Leadership Committee Members
Share This